Tuesday, May 23, 2006

SQL Server Teaser: Isolation Level

In SQL server 2000 there are 4 isolation levels

Read uncommitted which can produce a dirty read, a repeatable read and a phantom read
Read committed which can produce a repeatable read and a phantom read
Repeatable read which can produce a phantom read

What if I tell you that there is a 5th one, no it’s not snapshot isolation we are dealing with SQL Server 2000 here

The question is how do you set it and what is the (appropriate) name of this isolation level
I will post the answer on Memorial Day if no nobody answers by then

No comments: